1 - 2 of 2 Posts

dubai_suzie

Even though it is super hot in Greece, you should dress a little more modestly when entering churches and monasteries. Try not to wear super short shorts and have your shoulders covered. I suggest bringing a shawl if you're a woman and being a little more dressy if you're a man (avoid beach clothes and tank tops). Please add suggestions below! I am not an expert, this is just what I've been told and what I've noticed

Reactions: Hash

Worldwide Greeks Editor

Administrator
Staff member
In the United States Greek Americans tend to dress in more formal when attending a Greek Orthodox church service.

In Greece, every time I have visited a monastery (just visiting not an actual service) I have worn casual clothing and have not had an issue. Several years ago I spend Easter in Greece and did dress up a big more than just stopping by, course during holy week!

Hope this helps and enjoy Greece!

Beautiful Greek/English pop song: Fotia by Evangelia

I just discovered this song even though it was released 1 year ago, its so beautiful

How long after being in Greece will it take to learn Greek?

I would love to learn Greek in an immersive way. Im thinking of trying to get a summer job there or spending some time staying with friends. How long do you think it will take to learn a basic understanding of Greek. Has anyone else tried to do this?

The Greek economy is growing!!

Finally, some good news for the economy of Greece :)

5 Greek wedding gifts not on the registry

Time Capsule​

Gift the newlyweds with a time capsule they can fill with memorabilia from their wedding, letters to each other, and dreams they have for their future together.

Gold Jewelry​

Giving gold jewelry to a Greek bride is something that has been done for centuries. Greek Orthodox weddings are steeped in tradition and religion, so gifting the bride with a piece of gold jewelry such as a bracelet or necklace is very thoughtful.

Money​