1 - 2 of 2 Posts

paharo45

On a recent trip to the Peloponnese region, I had the pleasure of tasting a robust Agiorgitiko, which was a perfect companion to the local lamb dishes. I also visited the Domaine Skouras, a family-owned winery where the tradition has been passed down for generations – their Megas Oenos blend is to die for.

While I remain enchanted by the wines from this region, I'm just getting started. I've heard whispers of lesser-known grape varieties with complex profiles, such as Assyrtiko. Has anyone here had the opportunity to indulge in this rare find? Share with us your tasting notes!

For those looking to dive deeper into the world of Greek wine, there are some magnificent wine routes that weave through lush vineyards and offer a glimpse into the country's rich wine culture. The 'Wines of Crete' festival is also an upcoming event I have on my radar. It's a great opportunity to sample a diverse array of Cretan wines and perhaps even unearth a new favorite.

What Greek wines have beckoned to you? Any particular food pairings that brought out the best in them? Or perhaps you have a favorite vineyard that you would recommend visiting.

I love Greek wine. I didn't like the small sample set of Greek wine I was finding in the United States at first. Offerings about twenty years ago were few and far between. Mavrodaphne, retsina, maybe a red here and there. Things are different now. I went to Greece, and also Greek wine is more readily available outside of Greece.

One of the things I love is that there are grapes in Greek wine you can't find anywhere else. Assyrtiko, a gem from the volcanic soils of Santorini, produces mineral-rich and citrus-forward whites that are simply spellbinding. At the same time, Agiorgitiko and Xinomavro showcase reds' diverse and robust character.